Butterflies

Butterflies

I didn’t get to choose my life. I’ve had the blessing to meet amazing people who’ve taught, mentored, sheltered, and even told me to take a hike. They gave me lots of insight into life and shown me avenues to explore. Skills to hone. Strengths to nurture that I didn’t even know I had. Yeah, I’ve meet some not so great people too, but I don’t dwell in the past. I edit my brain space to concentrate on pretty much the most recent positive stuff and go forward from there. Works for me πŸ™‚

I have found though, that the best teacher, the best guide, and the most dependable friend I have is the one, true God. (It took me a long time to really nail this down in this way) I’ve learned to know His voice, to hear Him in this life. That was the most important relationship I could ever forge. I continue to build on it daily and it’s given me so much strength. It’s changed me and brought me to a place in my mind where I KNOW WHO I AM and where I want to be. (Kapow! “Purpose Driven Life” and “Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff” LOL) (Yeah, I admit, I read ’em both back in the day…why? I don’t know. Chalk it up to peer pressure.)

Yeah, this life is temporary. Think of it like this. Your spirit is a butterfly, a beautiful thing that lives here on earth for a short time. It has needs, it has enemies, it has allies. It has a choice about where it goes and how it survives in the time it’s here. It goes where the wind takes it and doesn’t look back. It doesn’t worry and focus on stuff it can’t change. It literally takes time to stop and smell the roses! We could choose to live like that butterfly, in this moment. Enjoying the gifts set right in front of us, right now. Flip it. Stop worrying about the pressures and the problems that face us today and the ones that loom on the horizon. Yes, they exist. Yes, you have to deal with them. No, you don’t have to let them rule your life and define you. Handle it and move on.

Keep your focus on the one (c’mon, there has to be at least one!) or more good chunks of stuff that happened to you that day. Be a rebel and practice smiling, even though you don’t feel like it. Soon it will be the norm. A habit that sets you apart from others in the most wonderful way. (A pleasant side effect of smiling: people think you’re younger than you are! I can definitely use some of that!)

I’m thinking we should change our perspective so we see the goodness of the Lord Jesus Christ in the places where we are. This land of the living. We have to be here for a little while, so let God work in our lives and change our time here into something worth living. Enjoy something from this life every single day and try not to focus on all the wrongs that happen in the space of 24 hours. The things that don’t go just right maybe didn’t have enough time to get right. Be patient and then, pass it on. Tell someone else how good life can be when you live like a butterfly…

Be blessed and live with crazy joy today! It totally has an effect on people πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

