The Rain-Bird

The Rain-Bird

Mother-In-Laws. Thought of mine today as I was doing the UV window film that blocks out heat. Anytime I fix something now, I think of Aiko. She’s in her mid 70’s, 4’10” tall and a very traditional Japanese lady. She’s not traditional in that she does a lot of rituals or only speaks Japanese or something like that. She’s traditional in the sense of she doesn’t know how to do a lot of stuff around the house. (except for gardening, cooking, and cleaning she has those down to a science!) I mean repair-wise. Enter, me.

For a year in 2012 we lived about 4 miles from Aiko’s house. You know, a lot of stuff happened that year for me. I got out of LA and away from the industry, I got really dialed in with God and started on the journey of my calling from Him, and I got to know Aiko. See, before 2012 I got to see Aiko about twice a year. Christmas and maybe springtime. I didn’t know her well at all. I was so busy with work that I never called her just to talk, actually didn’t know her well enough to. Moving there, I got to really get to be with her. Find out how she ticks, realize that there was indeed a way to get to know her.

Manual labor.

LOL. It started with small things. Loads of mulch and rock for her garden. Climbing ladders to clean gutters. It progressed to fixing dish disposals, dishwashers, sprinkler timer systems, lighting fixture changes, advising on fall lawn care, tiling options for bathrooms, security gates. She fired her half-way handyman and Diana was the first call when stuff broke down.

I didn’t mind it at all. Really. I love a challenge. Since I was a tiny kid I was always taking things apart to see how they worked. “Fix ’em”, I’d say. (Sorry, Big Ben, the bell tolled for you, my friend) It comes naturally. I guess what I’m saying with all this is, deep down, I miss her. I miss her calls of emergency. “Dian-A. (she’d say), My sprinkler won’t turn off, so I just shut off the water to my house…” LOL. That’s a 20+ year old Rain-Bird ISA-304 for you. Keeps on tickin’ till you shut ‘er down at the pump.

I hope Aiko is the same way…she’s a real gem, and on my mind today. Wonder what she needs fixed since I’ve been outta pocket? I’ll be busy at Christmas for sure!

Thursday’s in the can, my friend! Friday is up and can you just feel that weekend coming??? Peace and blessings to you and yours πŸ™‚

2 comments

  1. grannyandthebaldguy · · Reply

    Have a wonderful week end coming up way to quick and have a wonderful week end.

    Like

    1. You as well! I know, this week just kinda blew past me, too πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

