Sideswiped

Sideswiped

I met with my friend A today at the Annenberg Community Beach House in Santa Monica. She’s been dying to check this place out and essentially wouldn’t let up until I said I’d go. It was really not something I wanted to do…don’t get me wrong, I like the beach, but I just don’t like to sit on it all day. Call me nuts, but it’s just not my bag.

Something told me early this morning to not park close by. To walk over. (Meaning, yes, you’re going…) I parked a couple of lots over and walked up the beach path I usually run on to get in. After waiting about a half hour for her, I took the camera back to the car and was about to call it a day when she appeared with some drama.

Seems her car had been sideswiped and hit and run in the parking lot. The beach house parking lot. Glad I didn’t park in it, but sorry she did. She really didn’t know what to do, so I helped her out and took the pictures for her insurance. I know she’d have eventually got it all straightened out, but it was nice to have someone there.

Afterwards we sat by the pool she talked at length about some problems she was having at work. Funny thing is, she’s had some of the very ones I had as a teacher (when I taught). I tried to get her focused on God closing one door only to open another one. This is something that happens to all of us at some point in our lives. Think of leaving the path you’ve seen as “yours” as a good thing.

She was really worried about the details and I could hardly get a word in edgewise, so I just listened to her rant. I offered support and a shoulder. I think she wanted me to tell her that everything she did was perfect. I couldn’t do that, but I think it was good for her to bounce it off someone who knew where she was coming from. I guess my going there today was for more reasons than I knew.

I hope that somehow she got that it’s OK to stand up for your rights. That letting people know where you’re coming from isn’t evil. Protecting yourself from not getting your spirit squashed and from second guessing yourself constantly is a good thing. Doing all that doesn’t compromise your Christianity. It’s how you do it that matters most. When God is behind you directing when and where to step up and when to just watch and consider, you’re going to be better off than trusting yourself.

I think that was my golden nugget from today. Be ready to swing, but listen like crazy first…He’s trying to show you the sweet spot, so you’ll be sure to hit that home run. Shame it took her car getting smashed for that a-ha 😦

I’m hoping your challenges are met and pole vaulted over today. Whatever is bothering you will only do that if you let it…so just don’t go there. 🙂
Much love to you today!

Leave a Reply

