Majesty

Majesty

I love the woods. It seems that you enter another world. Quiet. Complex. A place where things are happening unseen. I guess that’s why there are so many fantasy movies set in the forest. Fairytales and secret kingdoms full of mystery enchant everyone from children to adults.

I haven’t been there, but I hear that the Pacific Northwest is full of beautiful woodlands. The redwood groves of Northern California also have that beautiful mystery. I’ve been just through a few giant trees, at the top of the mountains overlooking Lake Tahoe. Those trees are incredibly huge, out of the norm, skyscraper huge! You can’t stop along the road there to see them, there’s no shoulder, and the road is curvy and tight. Dangerous. Seeing them though, was like visiting an ancient masterpiece. Quietly grand, like visiting the Louve and seeing Nike of Samothrace just standing there on the landing of the rear staircase. Arresting and lovely in the middle of everything.

I guess we’re surrounded by things like those trees every day. Quietly lovely. Great and small. Hiding right in plain sight. I know my calling is to notice them and bring them to light, but they still amaze me when I see them.

I’m feeling very content tonight. Like a little kid who doesn’t need a thing, but is happy with exactly what they discovered on Christmas morning. I thank God for this peace in my spirit. I thank Him for what’s He’s created in this world for us all, the great and the small. The seen and the not yet discovered. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings! (Whatever it is, I’ll definitely share it with you!)

Hoping your evening is like hot chocolate with extra marshmallows…sweet and simple but perfect 🙂

Much love to you and your fam!

Leave a Reply

