Pioneer

Pioneer

Last night R and I were really talking and looking into building a house. Not just any house, but a small one. A kind of modern cabin. We’re used to “small” spaces together, I don’t think we’ve ever had a space to live in that was bigger than 1,700 SF. (That was the largest!) Currently we’re in 1,100 SF and have just enough room for all the things we “need” and really would want to have around.

What we’d love to do is find a great piece of land. One with a view, maybe some water. A little space to have a few chickens and grow some food. Somewhere we can use solar and geothermal energy to heat/cool/ventilate/power it. Somewhere to live independent of the grid and all the bills that encompass American life. It’s possible. People are doing it all over the world.

The big question is, if it’s possible, WHY don’t people do it?

We’ve never been a “normal” couple in that we’re not into the huge American dream. I never really felt the pull to get the big house, spend a ton of money taking care of it, decorating it, and showing it off. Call me crazy, but I like what I like-I surround myself with things I love (I’m an art director), but they don’t always have to cost a mint to make that cut.

I see homes as more than just houses people live in. A home should be a haven, a safe place, the spot where your life is. I don’t want to see it as an “investment” that’s going to turn over and make tons of money when I choose to leave it and get a better one. I think that pipe dream is pretty much over for the people who do that anyhow…

Don’t get me wrong, I like my “stuff”. I am willing to part with some of it to try something new though. I choose things that make our place a home, but when it comes down to it, we don’t need all that to make it home. We just need to be together. πŸ™‚ I’ve grown into a risktaker and been really surprised at the outcomes. I think that leap of faith kind of approach to life has changed me over the past few years into someone who takes things with a lot less stress around them. The “what-ifs” don’t pop in there first to kill it. Instead the focus is on how can we do it? How could we make it happen? It’s become a more optimistic way of life for me, really us.

God has and is, and will continue to bless us. He promises this not only to me and R, but to every person and family on this planet who knows Him. I know that He’s the reason for the changes in my thinking this past few years. It took me some time to get ready, but when I was, I was able to really accept all He was sending my way and embrace it. No way did all that happen overnight…there was a lot of past stuff to work out. Now that’s past. His grace has covered it all up and made it smooth.

The future is now, so what I’m gonna do with it is just keep following where I’m led… one thing we can always count on is that God doesn’t do take backs. His promises are forever!

Today I hope you’re feeling loved and surrounded by a place that you enjoy…sending peace and blessings to you and your fam!

This song always makes me glad I’m free πŸ™‚ Seal is AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

