Non-Magnetic Lady

Non-Magnetic Lady

I just ran to the market for my Saturday treat (flourless chocolate cake, they make this mini one…holy chocolate… I love Saturday!) While I was there, I got a reality check. I was behind a lady in line who was attempting to pay for her order. She let the cashier ring it all up and THEN told her, (in really a pretty snotty tone, sorry to be down on her, but it was true)

“My card’s magnetic stripe does not work. I know this. They always enter everything in manually. I have PLENTY of money in there, but the card will be denied the swipe machine.”

Of course, the cashier didn’t know how to do this and had to call a manager over…my stuff is waiting…gelato melting…everyone else is whizzing through other lines…the lady looks at me for commiseration and support. I gave her none. I wasn’t in the mood to make her feel better about being so thoughtless of other people. She keeps looking at me, I look away and frankly, I wasn’t going to give in to her silent pleading to make her “feel better” about her choices.

Personally, if it were my card, (and in the past my own cards have done this), I’d take a trip into the bank and get a temporary while I wait for the new one to arrive in the mail. Most people would. Why she’s so entitled and better than most, I’m not sure. It gets me thinking about attitudes. Why are some people not ready to admit when they’re wrong and fix it? What makes them decide to make their shortcomings everyone else’s problem?

What does God think about that? I can believe that He would want us all to be independent, but to learn from Him and His teachings about how to go through life helping others more than helping ourselves. Maybe I was wrong today in not supporting the lady. Maybe it wasn’t my place to stand there in silence and watch my ice cream melt while she held the store up on purpose. I’m not sure, but I’m not sorry. I’m not angry at her, but her attitude made me think about how the lack of guidance from God can make people very different from the ones He intends us to be. I’m also not judging her, that’s for God to do. πŸ™‚

I’m not sure if she’ll change her attitude, unless God intervenes she’ll probably continue on. Two things I do know for sure is that I’m happy to admit when I mess up and I’m not letting her bad attitude infect me. I’m glad I can fall on my face and still look in the mirror. God helps me to do that. He helps me to not take everything that happens to me in this life so seriously, because I know He’s there to support me. Always. Since I don’t have to worry about that small stuff, I get time to think more about the big stuff that’s happening right now. That’s such a good feeling!

I hope that wherever you are, you’re secure in the place He has you in. I know that the sunny side isn’t always on top, but more often than not, it’s looking up for us all. Faith. Gotta keep it!

The weekend is already here and flying by! Funny how that happens, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ I’m gonna go rescue my dinner from the oven and get ready to have my chocolate! I hope you’re having a wonderful night, much love to you and the fam!

Talk with you tomorrow!

2 comments

  1. Gede Prama · · Reply

    Dear friend, Thank you very much, I was really happy to have been following your blog. I’m still a lot to figure out, and here I can only say that you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thanks and greetings compassion from Gede Prama πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Gede Prama! I’m so glad that you enjoy my blog πŸ™‚ I’m honored to call you friend! Be well and have a wonderful new year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

