Unspoken

Unspoken

My good friend, L. at church has a really big problem. She has partially detached retinas (in both eyes) and is pretty much blind. She even had cataract surgery a few years ago as well to try and save her sight. She’s eternally upbeat about the situation and will always greet you with a smile, a hug, and an “I love you!” She always saves me a seat right next to her. She inspires me to be strong, no matter what comes my way. šŸ™‚

Recently she switched doctors and the newest one offered her a surgical “cure” for her eyesight that had great risk, but that might work. Before she visited him, she began taking Braille lessons and even had a blind “coach” help her navigate bus routes and city streets with the aid of a blind cane. She is preparing for the worst, but hoping for the best. It is so hard to know what to say and do in the situation. I want her to be healed!

We’ve laid hands on her and prayed for her. We’ve encouraged her to get second opinions. We’ve had her on the prayer list. It wasn’t until tonight in service that the Pastor really put it into perspective for me.

He was saying that finding out the “why” shouldn’t be our focus in any situation. We shouldn’t take up all our time creating scenarios, situations, and applying blame to what we don’t have the whole picture for. Stop trying to “cure” and “fix” everything. God doesn’t need to tell us why…we need to instead focus on ENCOURAGING her (and anyone in a hard place) in the situation. Giving them hope and light. Sometimes that’s done not with our “wisdom”, but just by being there. Letting people know we’re there to help and offer comfort.

That’s not easy sometimes. We want to do more. We want to say more. We want to show them we care. Let’s face it, not everything is about us and what we want. What I think God is trying to say is, “Less is More.” Maybe it’s like that old song, sometimes we need to speak volumes without saying a word…

Going forward that’s what I’m going to do. When I see her in church, I’m going to continue to tell her I love her. I’m gonna keep holding her hand when she stands up to worship, to let her know I’m there. She won’t need to worry about falling down, because I’ve got her back. I’ll stand up and say everything I have on my mind for her, without saying a word…

That gives me more peace tonight than you know! šŸ™‚

I hope that wherever your little corner of the world is tonight, you’re happy and feeling on top of the world! It’s a new week, a brand new chance to tell someone you meet that you like their smile! šŸ™‚ I’m so glad you’re here, my friend!

Much love to you and the fam šŸ™‚ Blessings and peace to carry you through the night! Talk with you tomorrow!

I thought this kind of said it all….

Leave a Reply

